NEWS
10 Car Maintenance routines you should know

JUN 19, 2019
While some vehicle owners have a car preventive maintenance schedule, many just drive into the mechanic’s and agree to the recommendations given to them by the service operator. One thing you should know is that just like the regular checkups are taken for the human body system to be in good condition, the same applies to cars. Getting scheduled inspections and checkup on the car keeps it in good condition which could save you a lot of money and be an excellent asset to you in the future.
Photo Credits: Cam Bowers (@cbowers) 

Here are ten Car Maintenance Routines that can help to avoid costly errors:

​​​​​​​

Photo Credits: Peter Broomfield (@peterbroomfield) 

Check the Car Service Manual

The best way to learn how to maintain your vehicle is going through the car service manual. This is written by the manufacturers and contains very detailed information about the car and the safety precautions to be taken.

Photo Credits: Nicolai Berntsen (@nicolaiberntsen) 

Have a Car Maintenance Schedule

After going through the manual properly, have a maintenance schedule and follow it. Usually, your automobile brakes, air filter, spark plugs, timing belts and other parts of the vehicle must be regularly maintained or replaced according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 

Photo Credits: Dhiva Krishna (@dhivakrishna) 

Inspect the Car Generally on Your Own

Many vehicle owners do their inspection on the car, to know if any part looks out of the ordinary. Check the lights, the air pressure in the tires, the battery and other important parts regularly.  

Photo Credit: Chris Liverani (@chrisliverani) 

Don’t Stress the Car’s Engine

The maximum wear on a car engine happens when you start a vehicle when turning the ignition key take a break to ensure your windscreen wipers, air conditioning, and every other vehicle accessory are off. By putting it off your engine, it gives the engine oil time to work through the car system.

Photo Credits: Tim Mossholder (@timmossholder) 

Ensure all Fluids are Clean and at the Proper Level

Brake oil, engine oils and every other motor oil are needed to lubricate the car and cool the vehicle engine. Make sure the oil is not dirty to prevent the engine from heating up, this makes the engine wear out faster and put out more pollution. Also note the windshield wiper fluid, tank level, coolants, transmission fluid should be observed.

Photo Credits: Maarten van den Heuvel (@mvdheuvel) 

Use the Appropriate Grade of Motor Oil and Gasoline

You can increase your gas mileage by following the recommendation given by the manufacturer in the manual. It is also imperative you choose the right fuel as it serves better for your engine detecting how many miles you can go depending on your environment.

Photo Credits: Vlad Grebenyev (@grebenyev) 

Ensure your tire are Inflated Properly

To increase your car gas mileage, you can inflate your car tire to the proper pressure making it safer and last longer. The vehicle manual will instruct you on how to keep the tire balanced and aligned to drive smoothly and improve fuel efficiency and the engine.

Photo Credits: Why Kei (@whykei) 

Take Note of Any Strange Sound

Ignoring strange noises may cause expensive damage to your vehicle, sounds like squeaks when opening the door reminds of lubricating the door hinges, the thump sound means you can lose an exhaust pipe, and many other sounds should be noted. 

Photo Credits: Clement M. (@cmreflections)

Wash the Car Regularly

Washing the vehicle both internally and externally makes the car look neat and kept. This makes the car look good because is a means of maintaining the vehicle. Washing off the bugs, bird droppings, dirt, and chemicals accumulated on your car prevent the wax from stripping off, and the paint looks neat.

Photo Credits: Alan King (@alanking) 

Change the Motor Oil Regularly

Many car owners have little or no time to change the motor oil of their vehicle. The old oil used does not make the car look good, so ensure you change your oil at intervals.

Basic Car Maintenance Checklist before Driving: 

  • Check the power steering fluid
  • Check the battery
  • Observe the air filter
  • Check the coolants
  • Check the hoses
  • Check the wires
  • Ensure the tire are inflated and adequately aligned
  • Check the automatic transmission fluid level 

Conclusion

Observing your car and noticing every minor problem before it becomes an expensive issue to handle, keeps your car running smoothly. Take note, that a perfectly maintained car can help prevent accidents. Drive carefully and maintain your car.

No products in cart